Skip to content

Making a Moroccan sofa

August 23, 2009
I spend way too much time on Craig’s list and on freecycle.org, and now I have gotten side-tracked from my desk project and instead I am now working on a sofa.

What I would love would be one of those Moroccan sofas looking opulent with pouffy pillows and amazing wood work. These you can find in New York City and the cheapest ones costs about $1000. Well, that is just not in the price range of what I am willing to spend on a sofa. Still that is the kind of sofa I want.

So I have decided I will make one myself.

This is where I am starting:
This is an IKEA bed I got for free off of Craig’s List. It is supposed to be assembled by IKEA’s secret assembly instructions, which just about require you to have an engineering degree. However, I am not a bit worried about this as my intention is to assemble this is in my own Louisa way making it into a Moroccan sofa.

This is the look I am going for:


Besides putting this thing together in a more – shall we say – creative way – I need to get some bolsters, fabric, pillows and cushions. I also need foam and a mattress but I am confident it can be done.

Both Aycha and Mario are being somewhat hesitant to this new living room project, which makes me even more eager to prove this can be done.


As soon as my new sofa is up I’ll post a photo.

All pictures from “Exotic Style”, Sara Bliss


http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=loujohzea-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B003FY4OPA&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=loujohzea-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B003UIVIRI&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=loujohzea-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B001CRO4YI&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Comments
  1. November 16, 2009 7:30 pm

    Hello,What an exciting project you have undertaken. I am also on the same journey with the goal to create a Moroccan seating area in a challenging corner of my livingroom. While I don't quite know where to start, I'm creating mental sketches that include building my own sofa out of inexpensive lumber and a dollar a yard fabric from my local Walmart. Note, I live in New Mexico, so the shopping options for exotic items dim in the face of where you are! In any event, I'm curtious to know how your project turned out. Perhaps you can share a few pointers with me as well. Lastly, I too pretend to be the interiour genie, and most times the outcome is so cool, I can actually get away with it. Can't wait to see you new sofa & Thanks for sharing.Allison

  2. November 18, 2009 10:50 pm

    Moroccan sofa sets are very popular in Asia and Europe. Wonderful designs and the profitable price ranges are the main reasons behind this.office furniture

Comments are closed.

