Skip to content

How to create great stencils

June 22, 2010
Stenciled Bug
I like whimsy and I like the unexpected so I try to add little moments of surprise as much as possible when designing just for fun!

Here are some examples of traces and stencils I have made. It is so easy to create stencils so the paintings I make with them all change on a regular basis when I get tired of them. Gotta love paint – and the copy machine!!!

There are two ways to get your paintings or writings on the wall.


1. The traditional way where you copy something you like to a hard piece of paper, do the cut outs and then tape it to the wall, paint on top of it and remove it to see the stencil.

2. The other way is to use tracing paper – you can buy it in most art supplies stores – and put it between the picture you want to draw, and the wall. (Make sure you put the right side of the tracing paper down – I have one time too many ended up with a nice mark on the back of my picture and nothing on the wall). This works Publish Post best for more time consuming pictures with lots of little details. It works really well for writing quotes and such on the wall. After you remove the paper you have the letters on the wall and all you have to do is fill them in with paint or markers. Of course, you can use a copy machine to make your pictures lager or smaller before you trace them and the same thing goes for text.
Here are a few things I did to my walls with stencils and tracing paper.

I only stenciled the text and then put the pictures on my kitchen doors – I had the postcards from before but thought they would work in the kitchen.
This little man reading his newspaper is hidden behind a door and most people won’t even notice him – given the fact that he is about 1 inch tall that’s probably why. I used a very small stencil I found in a book about – Victorian stencils! Copied and cut out he now lives for ever on my wall.
This is a napkin I got at IKEA…

…and these are the elephants I painted after I blew up the images from the napkin and traced them onto the cabinet doors
In my hallway I stenciled an Indian pattern after I got a Moorish star lamp. This is actually one of the few stencils I made by cutting out the pattern in a piece of thin plastic. I traced the picture on to the plastic and then cut it out with a razor blade. The reason I did it in plastic was because I knew I would use the stencil over and over again and if you do it in paper it will eventually tear.
The pattern goes around the walls in my hallway like a border.
Parisian taverna design. I found the picture in some advertising magazine, blew it up and drew it on the wall… it is too easy… I wanted a worn out look so it would look more realistic, which is why this one is scraped up here and there. I went over it with a sandpaper. As you can see this is super easy – and lots of fun!
This clock I saw in an interior design magazine but it was a real clock and I always wanted one like that but I could not afford it. Back to the copy machine. This one is done mostly with a black marker – easier to handle than a paintbrush.
This pattern was a small pattern on the inside of a book. I copied it, blew it up and made a stencil out of it and “stuck” the picture in a corner above one of my window frames.

One Comment
  1. September 11, 2009 12:59 pm

    Great work! I love the Indian border you stenciled, it gives old block printing look. I love the bug too.

Comments are closed.

