Skip to content

Design inspiration from travels

August 6, 2010

I have so many pretty pictures of things, colors and patterns I have taken when I travel. Or even when I go out for dinner in New York City. I really like anything Middle Eastern looking, Moroccan or Indian as you can see.

I have an entire binder where I save various patterns I then copy and paint on furniture or walls (see the blog Stenciling and Tracing).

Here is a little selection.

This is the new ceiling in the Arcade by the Bethesda Foundation in Central Park. 

You can read more about it here: Central Park’s Bethesda Terrace Arcade It is gorgeous and such wonderful place to pass through while on walks in the park.

I love this shot Mario took when we went to see “Rent”. As you can see it is just a shadow but I would love to trace that one day onto who knows what…

This is from a Thai restaurant on the Lower East Side in New York City. It looks like a Murano chandelier but I highly doubt that is what it is. Very pretty, though.


Another restaurant interior. So creative.

All of these shots are from Park Guell in Barcelona. 

My idea was to blow them up, print them and frame them together. If you have not been to this park it is more or less a requirement that you go there at least once in your life time.

Some random door from the most beautiful city in the world – Barcelona

… and some other door

These are pretty tiles from Sitges – Spain – again would be fun to use the pattern on a wall or floor.

I never leave the house without my little automatic camera as I may see a pretty color or pretty display I later on what to copy. If you have some favorite places for inspiration please send them along – would love to hear of it!

Comments are closed.

