Skip to content

Adding some personal touch to the bathroom

November 29, 2010

Our bathroom was the average 1930’s boring, white tiled bathroom. In my opinion very boring.

I wanted something that would make me feel more like I was in a Spa.

Or at least not in a white, boring tiled 1930’s bathroom.

I could not decide whether this was going to be an Arabic, Indian or Moroccan looking bathroom so I went for all of it in some sort of combo-look. Since my favorite color is purple I thought this would be the ideal place to try this out. Usually small places are great for new tricks and ideas.

After covering the small little narrow bathroom in a nice deep purple I realized that my small and narrow bathroom was now yet smaller and more narrow.

So back at the hardware store I invested in a pint of prime. Prime helps to cover dark colors well and it also help new paint to stick better.

Prime, prime, prime and then I gave it another shot with lighter lavender that had the most romantic name: “pixie wing”.
So with Pixy wing I felt a lot happier and the bathroom looked cleaner and brighter.
There is an old white wood cabinet in the bathroom that I decided to strip and gold leaf… I could have just painted it gold but the leaf makes it so much more shiny. If you have never worked with gold leaf I should worn you that it can be a rather challenging project as you are working with very thin squares of gold leaf and they tend to stick to anything and very easily fall apart. It does look pretty but again – not for anyone in a hurry or with limited resources of patience. To get a more antique look then I painted it with some reddish brown paint diluted in water and changed the knob…

…the tub was also painted purple and then got some royal gold lines…
…I then stenciled some Arabic one the wall…
This was done using an old poem by Rumi that a friend of mine translated into Arabic. I copied his handwriting and traced it using transfer paper onto the wall.
It seemed to be impossible to find a shelf that would hold our towels so I spray painted an old wine wood box and drilled it to the wall.

We buy toilet paper in bulk and I finally realized that you can store 36 rolls of toilet paper above the door by just putting up a small little shelf (as you can see we are running low here). Because it was high up and I don’t like to see the supporters I put them on the surface side of the shelf instead.

The floor was white tile that would never ever stay clean, which has a lot to do with having a cat. I painted it a grayish purple mixing a few leftover paints together. I think floor paint would probably had been the way to go here but with so much paint left over and not wanting to spend on more it just had to work with latex paint and regular touch ups. (see picture above)

I reframed an old Indian painting in a frame I had found back in the street and let these bunch of Indian ban players stand on the top
The final touch was an old wall molding I had found in the street. It weighs a ton but I felt it helps to frame the bathroom a little bit. I hung it above the window.

Comments are closed.

