Skip to content

How I added a Caribbean touch to an IKEA table

September 11, 2010

So do you remember a few weeks back I was asking for some feed-back about how to make my plain, boring kitchen table a little bit more fun.

Some people e-mailed me directly and Tom suggested black and Mia said to paint it cream. But I felt I wanted something a little bit more spunky as I always sort of revert to – well – dark walnut or – ehum… – cream. So I went for something different altogether and painted it intensely Caribbean light blue!

Flower molded out of plaster
…and then painted

How do you like that? I molded little flowers out of plaster and glued to the side.
Painted them in that same cobalt blue I used for the vase on tip a few days ago and then a little touch of gold in the middle and I think I am done!

I am very happy with how it came out and I think you have to admit that even if you don’t like light blue it is still a lot more fun than that Scandinavian natural wood 🙂

Comments are closed.